We Gather Together Concert

Space Coast Symphony Orchestra presents..

November 26, 2022  |  7:00pm  |   Scott Center at Holy Trinity

MARSHALL Thanksgiving Variations (WORLD PREMIERE)
COPLAND Simple Gifts
BIEGEL Three Reflections: Freedom (JFK), Justice (RBG), Equality (MLK)
COPLAND ‘The Promise of Living’ from The Tender Land
TUNNEY Peanuts Concerto

Jeffrey Biegel, piano
Christopher Marshall, guest composer

Celebrate Thanksgiving with your Space Coast Symphony Orchestra!  Grammy-winning pianist, Jeffrey Biegel returns to Central Florida to perform three incredible works, including the world premiere of Christopher Marshall’s Thanksgiving Variations, a set of stunning, virtuosic variations based on the popular hymn, “We Gather Together.”  Biegel will also perform a moving work he wrote, a themed trilogy titled Three Reflections, which includes a “Reflection of Justice: An Ode to Ruth Bader Ginsburg”, “Reflection of Freedom: An Ode to John Fitzgerald Kennedy” and, “Reflection of Equality: An Ode to Martin Luther King.”  Also on the program is Dick Tunney’s enchanting Peanuts Concerto, based on the music of Charlie Brown composer, Vince Guaraldi.  This moving arrangement sets Guaraldi’s classic music from the Peanuts specials, into a three-movement work for piano and orchestra. It will be a wonderful introduction for families to hear the jazz writings of the late Guaraldi in a 21st century symphonic landscape.  The program is rounded out with two works from Aaron Copland, “The Promise of Living” from The Tender Land and “Simple Gifts” from Appalachian Spring.  The Shaker tune “Simple Gifts” was written in 1848 by Joseph Brackett and made famous by Copland.  This well-loved tune has come to symbolize simplicity, joy and freedom.


Nov 26 2022


7:00 pm - 9:00 pm


Scott Center Auditorium at Holy Trinity
5625 Holy Trinity Drive


Space Coast Symphony Orchestra


Go to Top