Melbourne Chamber Music Society: Pavel Haas String Quartet Concert

Melbourne Chamber Music Society presents…

March 10, 2023

The Pavel Haas Quartet was founded in 2002 by the violinist Veronika Jaruskova and the violist Pavel Niki. The current members are Veronika Jaruskova and Marek Zwiebel, violins, Luosha Fang, viola, and PeterJarusek, cello.

Following their victory in the Prague Spring Festival Competition and Premio Paolo Borciani in Reggio Emilia, Italy in 2005, the Pavel Haas Quartet soon established themselves as one of the world’s most exciting contemporary chamber ensembles.

In 2007, the European Concert Hall Organisation (ECHO) named the Pavel Haas Quartet one of its Rising Stars, following which they were afforded the opportunity to give numerous high-profile concert appearances all over the world. Between 2007 and 2009, the Pavel Haas Quartet held the title of BBC New Generation Artist. In 2010, the ensemble was granted a classical music fellowship from the Borletti–Buitoni Trust.

This year the Pavel Haas Quartet will be celebrating their 20th anniversary. The venerable BBC Music Magazine has ranked the Pavel Haas Quartet among the 10 greatest string quartets of all time, alongside the Alban Berg Quartet, Amadeus Quartet, Borodin Quartet and other stellar ensembles.


Suk: Meditation on an old Czech Hymn “St. Wencesias”, Op. 35a
Korngold: Quartet #3 in D Major, Op. 34
Dvorak: Quartet in G Major, Op. 106


Mar 10 2023


7:30 pm - 9:30 pm


St. Mark's United Methodist Church
2030 North Highway A1A


Melbourne Chamber Music Society
Go to Top